

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 16, 2012 Contact:

Elliott Griffin, Vice Chairman of External Relations (512) 970-9944

Young Conservatives of Texas PAC Endorses Additional Candidates in General Election

AUSTIN, TX —Yesterday, the Young Conservatives of Texas PAC released its slate of endorsed candidates for the 2012 General Election. Today, YCT would like to add their support for: Tom Maynard for State Board of Education District 10, Christi Craddick for Railroad Commissioner Place 1, Steve Toth for HD-15, Robert Thomas for HD-48, Jimmie Don Aycock for HD-54, and John Garza for HD-117.

"Each of these candidates have proven themselves to be the most conservative choice in their individual races," said Tony McDonald, Senior Vice Chairman. "It is important that conservatives get out and support them on November 6th."

With the addition of these six candidates, YCT has endorsed in a total of 49 races for the 2012 General Election.

"Candidates that receive YCT's endorsement are carefully examined prior to any decisions," said YCT State Chairman, Jeff Morris. "We take several factors ranging from voting records to questionnaires and personal interviews into account when making these decisions."

YCT, which was founded in 1980, issues the most respected ratings of the state legislature and is the only conservative group to have done so without interruption over the last 19 legislative sessions. YCT has chapters at universities across Texas. To learn more about YCT, their legislative ratings, or their endorsements visit www.yct.org.

To learn more about YCT, their legislative ratings, or their endorsements visit www.yct.org.

YCT only endorses in contested races. The full list of general election candidates that have earned YCT's endorsement are:

UNITED STATES SENATE

Senator: Ted Cruz

CONGRESS

TX-14: Randy Weber TX-18: Sean Seibert TX-23: Quico Canseco TX–34: Jessica Puente Bradshaw TX-36: Steve Stockman

TEXAS STATE SENATE

SD-8: Ken Paxton SD-9: Kelly Hancock SD-10: Mark Shelton SD-11: Larry Taylor SD-20: Raul Torres SD-25: Donna Campbell

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

District 1: Charlie Garza District 3: David Williams District 4: Dorothy Olmos District 5: Ken Mercer District 6: Donna Bahorich District 7: David Bradley District 8: Barbara Cargill District 9: No-endorsement* District 10: Tom Maynard District 11: Pat Hardy District 12: Geraldine Miller District 15: Marty Rowley

TEXAS RAILROAD COMMISSION

Place 1: Christi Craddick

TEXAS HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES HD-8: No-endorsement* HD-14: John Raney HD-15 Steve Toth HD-17: Tim Kleinschmidt HD-23: Wayne Faircloth HD-24: Greg Bonnen HD-26: Rick Miller HD-29: Ed Thompson HD-34: Connie Scott HD-43: J.M. Lozano HD-45: Jason Isaac HD-54: Jimmie Don Aycock HD-48: Robert Thomas HD-64: No-endorsement* HD-65: Ron Simmons HD-74: Thomas Kincaid HD-85: Phil Stephenson HD-93: Matt Krause HD-97: Craig Goldman HD-99: No-endorsement* HD-102: Stefani Carter HD-107: Kenneth Sheets HD-117: John Garza HD-125: Alma Jackson HD-134: No-endorsement*

HD-135: Gary Elkins

HD-136: Tony Dale

HD- 144: David Pineda

HD-149: Dianne Williams

*No Endorsement means YCT PAC was not able to ascertain enough information regarding the political philosophies of the candidates in the race or that of candidates reviewed or interviewed, none of the candidates were in agreement with the political philosophy of Young Conservatives of Texas. YCT PAC only endorses in contested elections.

YCT PAC is the political arm of Young Conservatives of Texas, a non-partisan organization which has promoted conservatism at universities across the Lone Star State for over three decades. The State's most active political youth organization, YCT is composed of hundreds of members and alumni who participate in the full spectrum of politics. YCT issues the most respected ratings of the Texas legislature and is the only conservative group to have done so without interruption over the past 19 legislative sessions. For a full list of YCT's endorsements, please visit <u>www.YCT.org/endorsements</u>.

###